Thanksgiving Day 2012

Thanksgiving Day this year was a bit rushed through for me. Actually it didn’t feel like a “holiday” at all. Been working and/or going non-stop the days before and after T.Day. But regardless, I put some time to volunteer and hand out a few Thanksgiving Day meals to the homeless. I’ve been doing this  the last few years for various local organizations. Volunteering this year ended up being a unexpected, yet pleasant surprise. One of the bosses I work for started Gobble Gobble Give . This is a non-profit organization that started in Los Angeles a decade ago and has now grown to have Thanksgiving Day  events nationally. Little did I know the man who I’ve been working for the last few months was the heart and soul behind such an endeavor. Go get em, Barry!

So with all of this being said, I was more than happy to help out.A fellow GGG volunteer, Christian, and I drove around Venice/Santa Monica “looking” for those in need. A very heartfelt and humbling experience that got Christian and I talking about the current state of politics and the human soul in this universe. There were no answers in our discussions and we spent most of the time in reflection and asking how each other was doing during the hand out of meals and clothes. He felt sad and I was humbled.

A reminder of how GRATEFUL some of us are to be blessed to have a roof over our heads, food to eat, and to have a job/income. I’m thankful for what I have and the challenges that I’ve gone through. This has only made me stronger and steadfast in life.. and a bit more stubborn in my ways!

Here are a few images that I had a spare moment to photograph during Gobble Gobble Give this past Thanksgiving Day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

